Women of the WashULaw Community to be Honored at 2023 Women’s Justice Awards

We are pleased to share that several members of our community will be honored at the upcoming 25th Annual Women’s Justice Awards, presented by Missouri Lawyers Media!

Alumna and former St. Louis County Circuit Judge Barbara W. Wallace (JD ’76) was named 2023 Woman of the Year. Judge Wallace was appointed to the bench in 1995 by then-governor Mel Carnahan, after almost 20 years in private practice. She also helped found the Women Lawyers’ Association of Greater St. Louis immediately after graduating from WashULaw, where she later served as president from 1980-1981.

Alumnae Jessica Merrigan (JD ’03, Spencer Fane LLP) and Lauren E. Tucker McCubbin (JD ’03, Polsinelli) will each receive Litigation Practitioner Awards.

Alumna Charli Elizabeth Steed (JD ’14, LLM ’15) will receive a Pro Bono Award for her work at the Spencer Fane firm.

Alumna and Judge Kendra R. Howard (JD ’01, LLM ’02) will receive a Public Service Award for her work with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Alumna Ann B. Stephens (LLM ’94) will receive a Transactional Practitioner Award for her work at Sandberg Phoenix & von Gontard.

Katherine Scannell, Vice Dean for Institutional Success, will receive an award in the Corporate category. Vice Dean Scannell began at WashULaw nearly 15 years ago, where she leads the School of Law’s top-ranked career center and admissions office. She was named Vice Dean for Institutional Success in July of 2022, tasked with implementing the ambitious objectives outlined in the School of Law’s five-year strategic plan.

Current 2L student Cara Hunt, president of the WashULaw Black Law Students Association (BLSA), was named a Leader of Tomorrow.

Honorees will be celebrated at the annual Women’s Justice Awards ceremony on May 18 at The Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza St. Louis. Congratulations, all!