The work of the Institute is guided by an active Faculty Advisory Board and an International Council that is comprised of respected statesmen, international jurists, and distinguished scholars. The Institute’s work is also funded by the generous donations of our financial supporters and institutional and strategic partners.

  • Faculty Advisory Board

    Leila Nadya Sadat, James Carr Professor of International Criminal Law and Director of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute

    Elizabeth Borgwardt, Associate Professor, Department of History

    Kevin E. Collins, Professor of Law

    John Drobak, George Alexander Madill Professor of Real Property & Equity Jurisprudence and Professor of Economics

    Dorsey D. Ellis, Jr., William R. Orthwein Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus and Dean Emeritus

    Michael Koby, Professor of Practice and Director of the Trial and Advocacy Program

    David S. Law, Professor of Law and Professor of Political Science

    Maxine Lipeles, Director of the Interdisciplinary Environmental Clinic and Senior Lecturer in Law

    Kimberly Jade Norwood, Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law and Professor of African & African American Studies

    Adam Rosenzweig, Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law

    Andrew Sobel, Director, MA Program in International Affairs in University College

    Karen Tokarz, Charles Nagel Professor of Public Interest Law & Public Service and Director of Negotiation and Dispute Resolution Program

    Andrew Tuch, Professor of Law

    Melissa Waters, Professor of Law

  • International Council

    Elizabeth (Betsy) Andersen

    Director of the American Bar Association Rule of Law Initiative

    The Honorable Louise Arbour

    Counsel at Borden Ladner Gervais, Judge ad hoc at International Court of Justice

    The Honorable Jorge Arrate

    Former Minister of Mines and Economic Advisor to President Allende

    Professor George A. Bermann

    Jean Monnet Professor of EU Law, Walter Gelhorn Professor of Law, and Director of the European Legal Studies Center at Columbia University

    Professor Dr. Rudolf Bernhardt

    Former President of the European Court of Human Rights, and Professor of Law at the University of Frankfurt

    Professor Raj Bhala

    Associate Dean for International and Comparative Law and Raymond F. Rice Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas School of Law

    Professor Paul P. Craig

    Professor of English Law at Oxford University and a Fellow at St. John’s College Oxford

    The Honorable Judge Liu Daqun

    Judge of the UN Residual mechanism for International Tribunals, and member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration

    Ambassador Francis M. Deng

    Former Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations for the Government of South Sudan

    Mr. David W. Detjen

    Senior Counsel, Alston & Bird LLP

    The Honorable Richard J. Goldstone

    Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa

    Professor Jung-Gun Kim

    Former Dean at Yonsei University Graduate School of Intellectual Property & Law in Seoul, Korea

    Ambassador Aída Ivone González Martínez

    Former Chairperson of the United Nations Committee for the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women and the Coordinator of International Women’s Affairs in Mexico’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs

    The Honorable Professor Herbert H. P. Ma

    The Law Foundation Professor of Law at National Taiwan University

    Dr. Susan F. Martin

    The Donald G. Herzberg Associate Professor of International Migration at Georgetown University School of Foreign Service

    Steven “Cash” Nickerson

    President of PDS Technical Services, Inc., in Irving, Texas

    The Honorable Hisashi Owada

    Former judge and President of the International Court of Justice and a member of the Institut de Droit International

    The Right Honorable Sir Geoffrey Palmer

    Former Prime Minister of New Zealand and co-founder of Chen Palmer & Partners, Wellington, New Zealand

    Ms. Asha Ramgobin

    Founder and Executive Director of the Human Rights Development Initiative

    The Honorable Patricia M. Wald

    Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit and former Judge, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

    Professor Ruth Wedgwood

    The Edward B. Burling Professor of International Law and Diplomacy at Johns Hopkins University and a Senior Fellow for International Organizations and Law at the Council on Foreign Relations

    Professor Joseph H.H. Weiler

    The European Union Jean Monnet Chair at New York University School of Law, and the President of European University Institute

    In Memoriam

    The Honorable John B. Anderson (1922-2017)

    Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni (1937-2017)

    Thomas M. Franck (1931-2009)

    Whitney R. Harris (1912-2010)

    Anthony Lewis (1927-2013)

  • Financial Supporters

    Anna and Whitney Harris

    Steven “Cash” Nickerson

    United States Institute of Peace

    Humanity United

    Margaret W. Dagen

    The Planethood Foundation

    Brookings Institution