Twelfth Annual Law and Economic Theory Conference

Anheuser Busch Hall, 4th floor, Room 401

WashULaw welcomes scholars and participants to the twelfth annual Law and Economics Theory Conference.



Thursday, November 30, 2023
7:00 – 9:00 P.M. | All-Conference Welcome & Happy Hour Reception
International Tap House
6217 Delmar Blvd, St. Louis, MO 63130

Friday, December 1, 2023
8:00 – 8:30 A.M. | Breakfast

8:30 – 8:45 A.M. | Introduction and Welcome

8:45 – 9:35 A.M. | Plaintiffs’ Choice Between Delegation the Filing and Strategic Lawyer-Client Communication
Authors: Mehdi Ayouni, Tim Friehe,* and Yannick Gabuthy
Discussant: Gary Biglaiser

9:40 – 10:30 A.M. | Agreeing to be Fooled: Optimal Ignorance about Information Sources
Author: Takuma Habu
Discussant: Giri Parameswaran

10:30 – 10:50 A.M. | Break

10:50 – 11:40 A.M. | Board Elections: Effects of a Uniform Ballot
Author: Hülya Eraslan and Yelda Güngör*
Discussant: Keith Schnakenberg

11:45 – 12:35 P.M. Tilted and Neutral Evidence-Generating Process
Author: Claude Fluet and Murat Mungan*
Discussant: Luigi Alberto Franzoni

12:35 – 1:35 P.M. Box Lunch

1:35 – 2:25 P.M. | Optimal Policing with (and without) Criminal Search
Authors: Carol Gao and Jorge Vásquez*
Discussant: Alan Miller

2:30 – 3:20 P.M. | A Theory of Expertise in Adjudication
Authors: Lewis Kornhauser* and Giuseppe Dari-Mattiacci
Discussant: Alan Schwartz

3:20 – 3:40 P.M. | Break

3:40 – 4:20 P.M. | Incomplete Contracts and Future Data Usage
Authors: Jens Frankenreiter*, Talia Gillis, Dan Svirsky
Discussant: Benjamin Johnson

4:20 – 5:10 P.M. | The Law of General Average
Authors: Luca Anderlini and Josh Teitelbaum*
Discussant: Danielle D’Onfro

5:30 – 8:45 P.M. | Dinner for Discussants and Authors
The Avenue
12 N Meramec Ave, St. Louis, MO 63105

Saturday, December 2, 2023
7:45 – 8:15 A.M. | Breakfast

8:15 – 9:05 A.M. | Paid Testimony with A Chance of Perjury
Author: Frances Lee
Discussant: Kathryn Spier

9:05 – 9:55 A.M. | Optimal Enforcement with Evidence Suppression
Author: Abraham Wickelgren
Discussant: Scott Baker

9:55 – 10:15 A.M. | Break

10:15 – 11:05 A.M. | Wage Signaling, Salary History Bans, and Equality
Author: Jeffrey Meli and James Spindler
Discussant: Eric Talley

11:05 – 11:55 A.M. | A Model of the Zone-of-Interests Test
Author: Yoon-Ho Alex Lee
Discussant: Sepehr Shahshahani

Noon-1:00 P.M. | Lunch

1. Luca Anderlini, Georgetown University, Department of Economics
2. Scott Baker, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
3. Gary Biglaiser, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Department of Economics
4. Michelle Blair, Stanford University, School of Education
5. Danielle D’Onfro, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
6. Hülya Eraslan, Rice University, Department of Economics
7. Justin Fox, Washington University in St. Louis, Department of Political Science
8. Jens Frankenreiter, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
9. Luigi Franzoni, University of Bologna, Department of Economics
10. Ezra Friedman, Northwestern University, Pritzker School of Law
11. Tim Friehe, University of Marburg, Department of Economics
12. Yelda Güngör, Rice University, Department of Economics
13. Takuma Habu, Cornell University, Department of Economics
14. Benjamin Johnson; University of Florida, Levin College of Law
15. Lewis Kornhauser, New York University School of Law
16. Yoon-Ho Alex Lee, Northwestern University, Pritzker School of Law
17. Alan Miller, Western University Law School
18. Murat Mungan, Texas A&M University School of Law
19. Giri Parameswaran, Haverford College, Department of Economics
20. Danny Schaffa, University of Richmond School of Law
21. Keith Schnakenberg, Washington University in St. Louis, Department of Political Science
22. Alan Schwartz, Yale Law School
23. Sepehr Shahshahani, Fordham University School of Law
24. Kathryn Spier, Harvard Law School
25. James Spindler, University of Texas School of Law
26. Eric Talley, Columbia University Law School
27. Joshua Teitelbaum, Georgetown University Law Center
28. Andrew Tuch, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
29. Jorge Vásquez, Smith College, Department of Economics
30. Abraham Wickelgren, University of Texas School of Law
31. Frances Xu Lee, Loyola University Chicago, Department of Economics
• Special thanks to the Program Committee: Scott Baker (chair), Danielle D’Onfro, Frances Lee
and Josh Teitelbaum.