WashULaw’s Strong Showing at Spring Moot Court and Trial Competitions

Read below for a roundup of our recent student successes!

Congratulations to 2L students Emily Fox, Hannah Greggs, and Matt Nussbaum on their second-place finish in the William B. Spong Invitational Moot Court Competition! They argued in front of an impressive panel of judges that included Cleo E. Powell, Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia; Eugene E. Siler, Jr., Senior Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; Henry E. Hudson, Senior District Judge, and more. It is the National Moot Court Team’s strongest showing in the competition since 2020, when it won its second Spong Tournament championship.

Congratulations to 3L students Rachel DiSibio, Derek Lee, and Lydia Stewart, who were named champions of the Oklahoma City Regional of the ABA’s National Appellate Advocacy Competition! They will go on to represent the Law School at the National Finals in Washington, D.C. in April. It is the National Moot Court Team’s third consecutive year qualifying for the National Finals, a distinction shared by only two other teams in the country.

Congratulations to the WashULaw Trial Team, recently named one of two 2023 AAJ STAC Midwest 3 Regional Champions! They will advance to the AAJ STAC Nationals in New Orleans, March 30th through April 1st.