Two days of Recognition and Awards Ceremonies honored the Class of 2017, their many contributions, and their exemplary achievements.

WashULaw saluted its graduates and their families at Commencement Ceremonies on Friday, May 19. The school conferred a total of 438 degrees on their JD, LLM, MLS, and JSD candidates.

The festivities began with class photos in front of Anheuser-Busch Hall, followed by Washington University’s Ceremony in the Brookings Quadrangle.

Graduates listened to the Commencement Address by Anna Quindlen, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and social critic. John Drobak, the George Alexander Madill Professor of Real Property & Equity Jurisprudence, served as the university’s Grand Marshal. Wei Zhu, JD ’17, had the honor of serving as Washington University’s Graduate Student Speaker. The WashULaw Recognition Ceremony immediately followed with a procession into the Varsity Gym at the Athletics Complex. Vice Dean Gerrit De Geest, the Charles F. Nagel Professor of International and Comparative Law, served as Grand Marshal of the Law School. Class Marshals were Nicholas J. Goldin, JD ’17, Jacob Richard Franchek. JD ’17, and Lei Yu, LLM ’17. Dean Nancy Staudt, the Howard & Caroline Cayne Professor of Law, delivered Remarks to the Graduates.

During her speech, Staudt recognized Drobak as the David M. Becker Professor of the Year, and Richard Finneran, JD ’08, as the Adjunct Professor of the Year. Professor Gregory Magarian spoke as the Voice of the Faculty. Sarah L. Rockefeller, JD-LLM ’17, and Lei Yu offered inspirational remarks as the Student Speakers. Elizabeth P. Walsh, associate dean for student services, and Peter K. Cramer, assistant dean of Graduate & International Programs, read the names for the presentation of diplomas.

The celebrations continued as WashULaw hosted a reception for graduates, alumni, and guests in Anheuser-Busch Hall. Earlier in the week, WashULaw celebrated at receptions for international and graduate students, graduating clinic students, the 50th Reunion Class of 1967, Public Service Award winners, Academic Excellence Award winners, and the Dean’s Leadership honorees.