American Constitution Society


The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy (ACS)
is one of the nation's leading progressive legal organizations.  Founded in 2001, ACS is comprised of law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, policymakers and other concerned individuals who understand the importance of the fundamental principles of respect for human dignity, protection of individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, and access to justice.  ACS is working every day to restore these principles to their rightful - and traditionally central - place in American Law. For more information, please visit: 

Today, American values, our constitutional heritage, and the freedoms and opportunities of our people are being undermined by a narrow, conservative approach to the law which lacks appropriate regard for the ways in which the law affects people's lives.  This conservative vision, which has come to dominate American law and public policy - from law school classrooms to legislative hearing rooms to federal courtrooms - and is advanced by a highly organized movement, threatens to undermine the true promise of our Constitution.

ACS is committed to fostering a progressive vision of the law on issues such as access to courts; anti-discrimination and affirmative action; civil liberties; consumer rights; criminal justice; disability rights; freedom of speech; gay rights; international human rights; immigration; labor law; open government; privacy; protection of health, safety and the environment; and women's rights and reproductive choice.

Each year, the ACS Executive Board at Washington University Law plans a wide variety of activities for the academic, social, and professional development of its members.  ACS attempts to invite and promote prominent speakers to lecture on various law-related topics during the year.  ACS often coordinates events in conjunction with the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), OUTLAW, BLSA, APALSA, and other student organizations at Washington University. 

2016-2017 ACS Executive Board:

Co-Presidents Kara Lillehaug 
  Tim Briscoe 
Vice-President Devin Lindsay 
Treasurer Tim Cowan 
Community Service Chair Branka Damjanovic 
Network Advancement
Emily McGovern
Nelson Allen
Sarah Schwartz
Joe Brinkman 

Video Links:

  • [view video] September 13, 2016 - Constitution Day: Supreme Court Review (Professors Appleton, Epstein, Freivogel, Magarian, Tokarz)
  • [view video] September 18, 2014 - Constitution Day: Supreme Court Review (Professors Epstein, Freivogel, Magarian, Sepper, Tokarz)
  • [view video] February 20, 2014 - "Mass Incarceration, A "Holocaust in Slow Motion?"
  • [view video] September 16, 2013 - Constitution Day: Supreme Court Review