Law Students Receive 2013 Carmody MacDonald Legal Practice Excellence Awards

Twelve second-year law students recently received the 2013 Carmody MacDonald Legal Practice Excellence Awards for outstanding performance in their Legal Practice sections during their first year of law school. 

The recipients are: Peter Shakro, Amanda Wolter, Katherine Wutchiett, Jonathan Clow, Jessica Kraft-Klehm, John Torrenti, Jonathan Adair, Elizabeth Costello, Sarah Hirschfeld-Sussman, Nicole Berkowitz, Timothy Rudolph, and Claire Melvin. The students were recognized for consistently drafting high quality memoranda and briefs, and for otherwise significantly contributing to the class as first-year law students. 

Jo Ellen Lewis, professor of practice and director of the Legal Practice Program, welcomed the group and congratulated the students on their significant achievements. Vice Dean Andrew Martin, the Charles Nagel Chair of Constitutional Law and Political Science and director of the Center for Empirical Research in the Law, also congratulated the recipients and thanked the St. Louis firm of Carmody MacDonald for their sponsorship of the award.  

Tina N. Babel, a principal at Carmody MacDonald PC who specializes in business and fiduciary litigation, gave the award address. Babel also heads the firm’s Pro Bono Program and serves as a coach for the law school’s Negotiation Team. She reassured the awardees that while law school initially may feel disorienting, it is all part of a process designed to teach them how to think logically and analytically. Combined with their strong communication skills, law school will arm them with the ability to use legal reasoning to advocate the best outcomes for their clients.