Professor Greenfield Receives 2013 Alumni Distinguished Teaching Award

Michael M. Greenfield, the George Alexander Madill Professor of Contracts & Commercial Law, received the Alumni Distinguished Teaching Award during the 2013 Law School Commencement Ceremony. The award was created by the Law School Alumni Executive Committee in 1988 to “recognize exceptional teaching on a faculty where excellent teaching is the norm.” 

Greenfield, who has taught at Washington University School of Law since 1969, is a recognized authority in the areas of consumer law, sales contracts, and the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). He has written a treatise on consumer law, co-authored a casebook on sales, and written another casebook on consumer transactions.

A member of the American Law Institute, Greenfield is the recipient of Washington University’s Distinguished Faculty Award. He also received a writing award from the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers for his casebook on consumer transactions. In addition to his books, he has written extensively and presented papers on consumer protection law; Articles 2 and 9 of the UCC; franchise law; due process and the enforcement of judgments; and coercive collection tactics.

In 2009, the law school dedicated a classroom in Harry & Susan Seigle Hall to Greenfield in recognition of his four decades of teaching and scholarship and more than two decades of service to building projects at the law school. The classroom was the first in the school to be named for a member of the faculty.

At the time, Dean Kent Syverud said of him, “Mike Greenfield has given 40 years of priceless sweat equity to this law school as a teacher and scholar, as well as a member of at least three building committees. The classroom in Seigle Hall is a particularly fitting recognition of his selfless service to our school. He loyally, dependably, and at times brilliantly, did so much to make Seigle Hall a reality.”

A Fellow of the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers, Greenfield also has served on its Board of Regents. Additionally, he is a past member of the Federal Reserve Board Consumer Advisory Council and served on the Ford Motor Company Consumer Appeals Board.

Nominees for the Distinguished Teaching Award must be tenured members of the law school faculty and must also have been on the faculty for 10 years or more. For consideration, nominees must have a consistent record of distinguished teaching. The award may be presented no more than once in three years.

Previous Award Recipients 
1988   David Becker 
1991   Frank Miller
1994   Dale Swihart
1998   Stephen Legomsky
2001   Charles McManis
2004   Susan Appleton
2007   Peter Wiedenbeck
2010   Kathy Brickey