Shields, Alumnae Receive Women’s Justice Awards

Professor of Practice Ann Davis Shields was honored recently with a Missouri Lawyers Media 2012 Women’s Justice Award in the category of Legal Scholar. The Women’s Justice Awards are intended to recognize women across Missouri who have “demonstrated leadership, integrity, service, sacrifice, and accomplishment in improving the quality of justice and furthering the highest ideals of the legal profession.” The awards are given to women from various segments of the state of Missouri, including the bar, the bench, public office, civil service, business, academia, nonprofits, and the state-at-large.

The Legal Scholar Award is given to law school faculty members or administrators who demonstrate excellence in “their own work with the justice system, through their research or scholarship, and/or through teaching and inspiring others.” In recent years, the award also has been given to Professors Hillary Sale, Kimberly Norwood, Karen Tokarz, and Maxine Lipeles.

Shields, director of the Pretrial Program, specializes in legal practice, pretrial practice, appellate advocacy, negotiation, and employment law. A presenter and lecturer at legal writing workshops and conferences nationally, she also is a bar review exam lecturer. Before joining the faculty, she practiced law at Bryan Cave LLP, specializing in employment litigation and development of affirmative action plans.

Other recipients this year include law alumnae Christallyn McCloud, JD ’06, corporate counsel for Sigma-Aldrich, who received the Rising Star Award, and Ruth Kim, JD ’84, general counsel at Fleishman Hillard, who received the Enterprise Award.

The Rising Star Award is “awarded to women lawyers 40 or under or within the first 10 years of practice who have already made a difference in the justice system or the profession and who appear on a path toward even greater accomplishment.” The Enterprise Award is “awarded to women in a business setting, be they entrepreneurs, executives, corporate counsel or other business professionals, who fulfill the above ideals in contributing to the improvement of the justice system.”