Universities in Israel, Germany among Law School’s Growing Exchange Program Agreements

The law school has finalized agreements with two more exchange programs—one in Israel and another in Germany—bringing the total number of student and faculty exchange program agreements to 12. The most recent partnership is with Bucerius Law School, Germany’s first and leading private law school.   

Dean Kent Syverud, left, and President Uriel Reichman,

Earlier in the fall, the law school signed an agreement with the Interdisciplinary Center in Herzliya, Israel. IDC-Herzliya is one of Washington University’s McDonnell Academy partners and a leading law school in Israel. Both agreements will enable Washington University students to study at the new partner school and respective partner school students to come to Washington University. Faculty exchanges also will occur. 

Uriel Reichman, president of IDC-Herzliya, visited the law school during the fall semester to formalize the agreement with that school. He noted that “it is a great honor for IDC to join Washington University as a partner,” and that he looks forward to collaborating with the university at a time when he believes that the legal profession will benefit from increasing interdisciplinary and globalized approaches to legal education. 

Dean Kent Syverud noted that the student and faculty exchanges are part of the law school’s “extraordinary array of international assets and programs, including our international LLM program and Transnational Law Program, faculty teaching and scholarly exchanges, student externship and summer abroad programs, and the work of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute.” 

In addition to Bucerius Law School and IDC-Herzliya, the law school has developed international exchange programs with the University of Trento in Italy, Utrecht University in the Netherlands, National University of Singapore, Hong Kong University, Catholic University of Portugal, Fudan University in China, Queen's University Belfast in the United Kingdom, National Taiwan University, Korea University, and the University of Queensland in Australia.