Henry Named Public Service Student of the Year

John Henry, center, Public Service Student of the Year

Graduating law student John Henry III was named Public Service Student of the Year at a recent ceremony sponsored by the law school and the Public Service Advisory Board.

Henry was recognized for his substantial commitment to public service throughout his law school career. Graduating law student Kyrsten Skogstad, who nominated Henry for the award, cited his incredible care, dedication, advocacy, and organizational skills in his pursuit of public interest work in the Bi-State area. Henry served on the Community Service Office’s Graduate & Professional Advisory Council and co-founded the law school’s Public Interest Law Society with graduating law student Margaret Gierse. The society sponsored multiple lectures, panels, and events. Henry also contributed time and services to Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation and to Legal Services of Eastern Missouri through public interest internships, clinical work, and an ombudsman program. Under the supervision of attorney mentors, he offered much needed legal assistance to low-income residents and senior citizens.

Other nominees for the award were graduating law students Lisa Brown, Justine Casselle, Katie Crank, Mara Gandal-Powers, and Jera Oliver. Brown served with Christian Legal Aid, Advocates for Children of New York, and Legal Services of Eastern Missouri. Casselle’s volunteer work was with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri and Ohio Poverty Law Center. Crank worked with Legal Advocates for Abused Women, the Domestic Violence Courts of St. Louis & Lincoln Counties, Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, and Redevelopment Opportunities for Women. Gandal-Powers served with the Children’s Health Advocacy Project and National Women’s Law Center. Oliver volunteered with Voices for Children. St. Louis City Family Court, and Lift for Life Gym.
Carol Vizzier, director of career services and public interest, and Skogstad presented Henry with the award. Dean Kent Syverud and Jenny Shen, student co-director of the Public Service Advisory Board, also spoke at the awards ceremony.

Public Service Honorees

Elizabeth Walsh, assistant dean for student services, and Janet Bolin, associate dean of admissions and student services, presented certificates of recognition to students who completed substantial levels of public service hours. In addition to Shen, Henry, and the other nominees, these students were Genevra Alberti, Ellen Bandel, Maria Barbu, Coretta Catlin, Steve Chiang, Michael Chu, Kathryn Cox, Sam Dalke, Harry Dorcy Jr., Mary Durbin, Tiffany Ellis, Tyler Ellsworth, Jason Engelhart, Kristen Erickson, Jing Geng, Bruce Grubaugh, Elizabeth Gunter, Jeryl Hayes, Nida Javaid, Amrit Kapai, Fanyu Kong, James Matthews, Samir Mehta, Theresa Mohin, Morgan Murphy, Kevin Roberts, Matthew Schainker, Chelsea Schinnour, Tyler Tigges, Timothy Tryniecki, Lorilei Williams, and Micah Zeller.