Students Excel in Competitions, Winning Attorney General’s Cup, McGee Moot Court Competition

Washington University law students had a highly successful year in lawyering skills competitions, including winning the Attorney General’s Cup and the McGee National Civil Right Moot Court Competition, taking high honors in several regional competitions, and advancing to the national rounds. Students also won numerous awards for their briefs and oral advocacy. 

2011 Attorney General's Cup Trial Team
Trial Team members garnered both first- and
second-place in the Attorney General’s Cup

In the Attorney General’s Cup, Trial Team members Tessa Somers and John Drake won first place, and Jason Julien and Casey Ransom took second. Julien also was selected Best Advocate Plaintiff, and Drake was named Best Advocate Defense.

Additionally, Trial Team members Christopher Bloom and Tiffany Ellis won the Regional Competition of the National Trial Competition and competed nationally. Michelle Parthum and Jacob Galperin also were semifinalists in the Regionals. Additionally, Ellis, Galperin, Erin Lueker, and Roen Taylor advanced to the semifinals in the National Civil Trial Competition. Similarly, Lueker, Taylor, Alexander Durst, and Amanda Montee were semifinalists in the ABA Labor and Employment Law Competition.

National Moot Court Team members Parthum, Ian Gross, Katherine McRobbie, James Stanley, Jenny Shen, and Jacob Vanzin won the Regionals of the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition and were quarterfinalists at the Nationals. Parthum and Vanzin were honored as Top 10 Speakers at the Nationals. In the Regionals, Parthum, Vanzin, and Shen were selected for Best Brief, and McRobbie, Gross, and Stanley received 4th Best Brief. Additionally, Moot Court Team members were named champions of the McGee National Civil Right Moot Court Competition. In addition to winning the competition, Sabrina Jiwani, Nicholas Rosinia, and Mikela Sutrina were chosen for 2nd Best Brief. Sutrina also received the Best Speaker Overall and Honorable Mention, as well as the Best Speaker–Preliminary Rounds. David Sokol, Justin Lepp, and Laura Bentele made it to the quarterfinals and were awarded 6th best brief.

In other competitions, law students Matthew Clarkson and Patrick Busch were semifinalists in the National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition. The ABA Representation in Mediation Team of Tyler Tigges and Elizabeth Fehder won the Regionals and were semifinalists in the National Competition. ABA Team members Patrick Poston and Erin Spears also placed third in the Regionals.

At the Rocky Mountain Super-Regional for the Jessup International Moot Court Competition, M. Imad Khan, Samina Sulemanjee, Julia Walcott, Andrea Weintraub, and Erica Woods were selected for Best Written Memorial. Khan also received 6th Top Oralist, and Walcott, 9th Top Oralist. The team took second out of 24 teams in the preliminary rounds. Their written Memorials are currently being considered for the Hardy C. Dillard Award given for the top written arguments in the world.

Additionally, Leila Sadat, the Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law and the Alexis de Tocqueville Distinguished Fulbright Chair, authored the Compromis for this year’s Jessup problem. She judged both the French National Rounds in Paris and the semifinal rounds of the international rounds in Washington, D.C. [view blog]

Law students also competed admirably against stiff competition in the Trial Team Tournament of Champions, Niagara International Law Moot Court Competition, Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition, Giles Sutherland Rich Moot Court Competition, and ABA National Negotiation Competition.