Quinn Named to CLEA Board of Directors

Professor Mae C. Quinn, co-director of the Civil Justice Clinic, has been elected to a three-year term on the Clinical Legal Education Association (CLEA) Board of Directors. As a member of the board, her responsibilities will include serving on the editorial board of the Clinical Law Review and working to improve diversity in the legal academy and clinical teaching, in particular.

The nation’s largest association of law professors, CLEA is committed to promoting the fundamental role of clinical experiences in legal education. Professor Robert Kuehn, co-director of the Interdisciplinary Environmental Clinic, is currently serving as president of CLEA, whose members include a number of faculty who teach in Washington University’s clinics. Washington University Professors Annette Appell, Peter Joy, and Karen Tokarz also were past presidents of CLEA.

The association’s goals include encouraging excellent teaching and scholarship from clinical educators, integrating clinical teaching and extending its methods at every law school, reforming legal education to best prepare students for law practice, and advancing regulation that ensures the continued vitality of clinical education.
Professor Quinn is an expert in criminal and juvenile justice system issues. Her research and writing has focused on a variety of topics, including the modern problem-solving court movement, holistic criminal defense advocacy, public citizen lawyering, applied feminist legal theory and history, and legal and ethical issues facing defense counsel. As co-director of the Civil Justice Clinic, she has developed a youth advocacy curriculum and supervises clinic students on juvenile delinquency and education law cases. Previously, she received a Fulbright Senior Specialist grant to assist in clinical legal education and juvenile justice efforts in Honduras. She also has taught at Georgetown University Law Center, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, and the University of Tennessee School of Law, where she was voted Teacher of the Year in 2009.