Three Chaired Professorships Recognize Contributions of Kim, Levin, Joy

The law school has announced three chaired professorships recognizing the outstanding scholarship, teaching, and service of Professors Pauline Kim, Ronald Levin, and Peter Joy.

“All three professors are accomplished scholars and talented teachers who have become nationally recognized in their areas of expertise while making great contributions to the intellectual life of the law school,” says Kent Syverud, dean and the Ethan A.H. Shepley University Professor.

Pauline Kim, who will be serving as the Charles Nagel Professor of Constitutional Law & Political Science, was installed first in a ceremony on October 28. Kim is a nationally recognized expert on employment law and judicial decision-making. She has written widely on issues such as job security, employee privacy, the federal judiciary, and the influences on judicial decision-making and is the co-author of one of the leading textbooks on work law. Kim served as the law school’s associate dean for research and faculty development from 2008 to 2010 and was the recipient of the law school’s first John S. Lehmann Research Professorship in 2007–08. She is a member of the American Law Institute (ALI) and an advisor to the ALI’s Restatement of Employment Law.  

 “In addition to her teaching and service, the Nagel professorship recognizes Pauline’s demonstrated commitment to groundbreaking empirical research that is contributing greatly to the field of employment law,” Syverud says.

Ronald Levin has been named the new William R. Orthwein Distinguished Professor of Law and will be installed in the professorship in spring 2011. Formerly the Henry Hitchcock Professor of Law, Levin is a nationally recognized scholar in administrative law and legislation. Co-author of several books including an administrative law casebook, he previously chaired the Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice of the American Bar Association. Levin also served as the ABA’s advisor to the drafting committee on revisions to the Model State Administrative Procedure Act, sponsored by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. A former associate dean at the law school, he currently is a public member of the Administrative Conference of the United States.

“Ron has enjoyed a distinguished career that I know will continue for many years. His predecessors in this chair, Dan Ellis and John Haley, have given it an honored history, and I believe Ron is an appropriate successor,” Syverud says.

Peter Joy has been named the new Henry Hitchcock Professor of Law and will be installed in the chaired professorship in spring 2011. Currently the law school’s vice dean, Joy is known for his work in clinical legal education, legal ethics, and trial practice. Co-author of a book on ethics for prosecutors and defenders, he is the co-director of the law school’s Criminal Justice Clinic and was the inaugural director of the school’s Trial & Advocacy Program. Joy currently is on the board of editors for the Clinical Law Review; a contributing editor to the ABA quarterly publication, Criminal Justice; a member of the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar’s Accreditation Committee; chair elect of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Professional Responsibility Section; former chair of the AALS Section on Clinical Legal Education; a board member of the Society of American Law Teachers (SALT); and former president of the Clinical Legal Education Association (CLEA).

 “The Hitchcock chair recognizes both Peter’s many contributions to the legal academy and the national and international recognition of his important work,” Syverud says.

The Nagel professorship was made possible through the estate of Daniel Noyes Kirby, who received his bachelor’s degree in 1886 and his law degree in 1888, both from Washington University. The professorship is named for Kirby’s law partner, Charles Nagel, LL.B. 1875. Named in memory of Henry Hitchcock, the law school’s first dean and co-founder of the ABA, the Hitchcock chair was created through funds from early benefactors of Washington University. The Orthwein professorship was established by William R. Orthwein, Jr. in memory of his father William R. Orthwein, a prominent St. Louis attorney who attended St. Louis Law School, the predecessor to Washington University School of Law.