Jessup, Trial Teams Win Regionals

The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Team and the Trial Team both took top honors in regional competitions and are heading to national and international rounds.

Having won the Southwest Super-Regional, the law school’s Jessup Team will advance to the Shearman & Sterling International Rounds held in March. The team consists of third-year law students Erin Griebel, Andrew Lucas, Jessica Malloy, and Shibani Shah, and second-year law student Imad Khan. The team’s written arguments earned a sixth-place finish in the 23-team competition, and all three of the team’s qualifying oralists – Shah, Malloy, and Griebel – placed in the top 16 individual oralists in the competition. Shah took home a seventh-place oralist award. Lucas won the Best Oralist award in the Championship Match.

This marks the third straight year that Washington University has advanced to the International Rounds in the Jessup Competition; it is also the seventh time in the past 11 years, a mark equaled only by Harvard. The team won all seven of its matches, defeating teams from the University of Texas, Louisiana State University, and the University of Minnesota in the single-elimination advanced rounds. The team is coached by alumnus Gilbert Sison, adjunct professor of law; the faculty advisor is Leila N. Sadat, the Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law and director of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute.

The law school’s Trial Team won first place at the Regional Qualifying Tournament of the ABA/American College of Trial Lawyers National Trial Competition (NTC). The team now will compete in the National Finals of the NTC in March against the 22 other national qualifiers from across the country. The law school’s team consists of third-year law students Christian Hines and Alexandra Maclennan and second-year law student Madelyn Light. In the regional round, they were undefeated throughout the tournament. The team of third-year law students Stephen Hoeplinger and Christopher Hines advanced to the semi-final round of the tournament. This is the 24th time in 28 years that the Trial Team has qualified for the NTC Finals. The coaches are alumni Judge David Mason and Mark Rudder.

In other competition success stories:

  • Saul Lefkowitz Team members Mario Gianino, Megan Koenig, and Doug Peterson won Best Brief and came in third in the Regionals of the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition. They remain in the competition for the Best Brief at the National Finals. Other team members are Chris Halkitis, Judy Juang, and Reed Wycuff. The Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition is the only competition in the United States with a focus on trademark and unfair competition law. The team is coached by David Deal, lecturer in law, administrative director of the Intellectual Property and Business Formation Legal Clinic, and acting associate director of the Center for Research on Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

  • Client Counseling Team members Brooke Curtiss and Eric Powers advanced to the semi-final rounds in the Regional Competition of the ABA’s Client Counseling Competition. Other team members are Amanda Highlander, Chansi Powell, Kristen Schwendinger, Mark Smith, and Elizabeth Street. The team is coached by attorney Tim Schlesinger and C.J. Larkin, senior lecturer in law and administrative director of the ADR Program.