Jessup Team's Memorial Named Best in World

The law school's Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court team has won the Baxter Competition for the best respondent memorial in the world. It also received eighth place in the Hardy C. Dillard Competition, which ranks the best written submissions internationally.

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Team 2007
The 2006-07 Jessup Team celebrates recent wins.

At the 48th annual Shearman & Sterling International Rounds of the competition held in Washington, D.C., Washington University Law's team initially ranked third out of 95 teams, representing 70 countries. The team also won the Alona M. Evans Award, given annually to the top written arguments in the international rounds.

Team members are Luke McLaurin (JD '07), Marguerite Roy (JD '07), Rachel Olander (JD '07), Ashley Walker (JD '08), and Liang Wei Wong (exchange student). Professor Leila Sadat and alumnus Gilbert Sison coach the team.