Competition Policy and Economic Development Conference

Competition Policy and Economic Development Conference

Sponsored by the Institute of Law of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), the Japan Antimonopoly Law Study Association, the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), and the Whitney R. Harris Institute for Global Legal Studies (School of Law, Washington University in St. Louis).  

September 17-20, 2002 
International Hotel Beijing 
Beijing, China  


Tuesday, September 17, 2002 

17:30 Registration at the International Hotel Beijing
18:00 Dinner
18:30 Welcoming Remarks by Wang Luolin (Vice President, CASS)

Wednesday, September 18, 2002 

9:00-9:30 Opening Remarks
Chair: Dr. Wang Xiaoye (Law Institute, CASS) 

Mr. Wang Luolin (Vice President, CASS)
Mr. Hiroshi Iyori (Former Secretary General and Commissioner, the Japanese Fair Trade Commission)
Dr. Ulf Böge, (President, German Cartel Office)
Prof. Xia Yong  (Director of Law Institute CASS)  

Session One: Competition Policy in APEC Countries 

9:30-10:50 Group 1

Chair: Prof. Dr. Mitsuo Matsushita (Seikei University, Japan) & Dr. Zhang Delin (Director of Economic Laws and Regulations Bureau, State Economic & Trade Commission, P. R. China)

Prof. John O. Haley (Washington University in St. Louis): Competition Policy for East Asia
Mr. Akio Ikemori  (Ministry of Economic and Industry of Japan):  Significance of APEC Efforts for Strengthening Economic Legal

11:10-12:30 Group 2

Chair: Prof. Makoto Kurita (Chiba University) & Prof. Ohseung Kwon (Seoul National University)

Prof. Dr. Ignacio De Leon (Universidad Católica de Caracas; Harris Institute Fellow):  The Institutional Conditions needed for Competition Policy
        to Flourish in Developing Countries: The Latin American experience
Prof. Wang Jiafu (Law Institute, CASS): The Legal System of China after Entrance of WTO.

Session Two: Chinese Antitrust Legislation  

12:30-15:45 Group 1

Chair: Mr. Hiroshi Iyori & Prof. Dorsey D. Ellis (Washington University in St. Louis)

Mr. Zhang Deling: The Draft of Chinese Antitrust Law
Prof. Wang Xiaoye: Deregulation of Telecommunication in China
Mr. Noriyoshi Ehara (Manager, Beijing Branch, JETRO Problems and Solutions)

15:35-17:00 Group 2

Chair: Prof. Masahiro Murakami (Hitotsubashi University) & Prof. Dr. Sakda Thanitcul (Chulalongkorn University, Thailand)

Prof. David Gerber (Chicago-Kent College of Law):  Applying US and European Experience to the Development of Competition Law in
        China (30 Minutes)
Prof. Ohseung Kwon (Seoul National University):  Applying Korean Experience to the Development of Competition Law in China
Mr. Syamsul Maarif (President of the Indonesian Antimonopoly Agency)

Thursday, September 19, 2002

Session Three:  New Developments in Antirust Law  

9:00-10:20 Group 1

Chair: Prof. David J. Gerber & Mr. Akio Ikemori

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Immenga (Universität Göttingen):  Merger Control in Germany and EU
Mr. Kazuyuki Funahashi (Japan Fair Trade Commission):  Merger Control of the Antimonopoly Law of Japan

10:35-12:30 Group 2

Chair: Prof. John O. Haley & Prof. Dr. Ignacio De León

Dr. Ulf Böge: Recent Regulation of Abusive Conduct by Market-Dominating Enterprises
Prof. Masahiro Murakami (Chiba University & FTC of Japan):  The History and Development of the Japanese Antimonopoly Act 
Prof. Dr. Sakda Thanitcul: Privatization and Deregulation in Thailand

Session Four Globalization and Competition Law  

14:00-15:30 Group 1

Chair: Dr. Wolf-Zumpfort (Director of Preussag Conzern)
Mr. Kazuyuki Funahashi (Japan Fair Trade Commission)

Prof. Dorsey D. Ellis: Intellectual Property and Competition Law under WIPO: Applying the U.S. and EU Experience
Prof. Makoto Kurita (Chiba University):  Efficiency and Transparency of  the Enforcement of the Competition Law

15:50-17:10 Group 2

Chair: President Ulf Böge & Mr. Syamsul Maarif

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Immenga: Extraterritorial Application of Competition Law and International Cooperation
Prof. Mitsuo Matsushita: Basic Principle of WTO and the Role of Competition Policy

Concluding Remarks

Chair: Prof. Dr. Wang Xiaoye

Prof. John O. Haley
Prof. Wang Jiafu