Faculty Colloquia 2008-2009

2008-2009

Information will be posted when available. Location and Time are subject to change, check individual speakers for any changes.

  • Location: Faculty Seminar Room, AB Hall, Room 320
  • Time: 12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m.
  • Quick LinksFall 2008 [Sept.-Dec.] • Spring 2009 [Jan.- Apr.]
  • Papers: Access is limited to faculty of the Law School. [view]
  • RSVP: Events RSVP List for faculty events can be viewed on the faculty MyLaw page.  See under the Calendar section for the link. [View MyLaw]
Fall 2008
Wednesday, Sept. 3
12:00-1:15 pm
Royce Barondes
University of Missouri - Columbia
Paper: "Want Your Opinions Reversed? Hire a Yale Clerk (and Don't Require the Bar)"
Royce Barondes 
Wednesday, Sept. 10
12:00-1:15 pm
David Stras
University of Minnesota
Paper: "Navigating the New Politics of Judicial Appointments"
David Stras 
Monday, Sept. 15
12:00-1:15 pm
Melissa Murray
University of California - Berkeley
Paper: "The Space Between: The Intersection of Criminal Law and Family Law"
Melissa Murray 
Monday, Sept. 22
12:00 -1:15 pm
Jennifer Rothman
Loyola - Los Angeles
Paper: "Liberating Copyright"
Jennifer Rothman 
Monday, Sept. 29
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Heidi Kitrosser
University of Minnesota

Paper: "Accountability and Administrative Structure"
Heidi Kitrosser 
Monday, Oct. 6
12:00-1:15 pm
Michael Siebecker
University of Florida
Paper: "Encapsulated Trust and the Tragedy of Corporate Transparency"
Michael Siebecker 
Friday, Oct. 10
12:00-1:15 pm
Brian Tamanaha
St. John's University
Paper: "The Distorting Slant in Quantitative Studies of Judging"
Brian Tamanaha 
Monday, Oct. 13
12:00-1:15 pm
Bob Kuehn
University of Alabama
Paper: "Lawyering in the Academy: The Intersection of Academic Freedom and Professional Responsibility"
Bob Kuehn 
Wednesday, Oct. 15
12:00-1:15 pm
Chris Slobogin
Vanderbilt University
Paper: "Juvenile Justice"
Christopher Slobogin 
Thursday, Oct. 23
12:00-1:15 pm
Scott Sundby
Washington & Lee
Paper: "Group Think and Capital Juries"
Scott Sundby 
Tuesday, Oct. 28
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Shruti Rana
University of Maryland
Paper: "Streamlining the Rule of Law"
Shruti Rana 
Wednesday, Oct. 29
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Peter Alces
William and Mary
Paper: "Toward an Empirical Morality of Commercial Transactions"
Peter Alces 
Thursday, Oct. 30
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Hillary Sale
University of Iowa
Paper: "Judicial Gatekeepers"
Hillary Sale 
Monday, Nov. 3
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Martin Shapiro
University of California - Berkeley (political science)
Paper: "Independent Agencies in the European Union"
Martin Shapiro 
Monday, Nov. 10
12:00-1:15 pm
David Bernstein
George Mason University
Paper: "Rehabilitating Lochner"
David Bernstein 
Wednesday, Nov. 12
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Bob Chang
Seattle University
Paper: "Iconic Images Of War And The Question Of National Belonging“
Bob Chang 
Tuesday, Nov. 18
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Sacha Coupet
Loyola University Chicago
Paper: "Does Conjugality Matter?  Negotiating Parenthood in Kinship Caregiving Families"
Sacha Coupet 
Thursday, Nov. 20
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Scott Baker
University of North Carolina
Paper: "Using Anticommons to Solve the Patent Holdout Problem"
Scott Baker 
Friday, Nov. 21
12:00-1:15 p.m.
Nicola Persico
New York University
Paper: "TBA"
Nicola Persico 
Spring 2009
Monday, Feb. 2
12:00 PM-1:15 PM
Mae Quinn
University of Tennessee 
Paper:  "Reconceptualizing Competence: An Appeal"
Mae Quinn 
Monday, Feb. 9
12:00 PM-1:15 PM
Camille Nelson
St. Louis University
Paper: "Racializing Disability, Disabling Race: Policing the “Dangerous” Intersection of Race and Mental Disability"
Camille Nelson 
Monday, March 2
12:00-1:15 pm
 
Richard McAdams
University of Chicago
Paper: "The Expressive Influences of Law"
Richard McAdams 
Wednesday, March 4
12:00-1:15 pm
 
Sharon Hannes
Northwestern University
Paper: "Compensating for Executive Compensation: The Case for Gatekeeper Incentive Pay"
Sharon Hannes 
Thursday, March 5
12:00-1:15 pm
Michael D. Green
Wake Forest
Paper: “The Unappreciated Congruity of the Second and Third Restatements of Torts on Design Defects”
Michael Green 
Thursday, March 19
12:00-1:15 pm
Beth Simmons
Harvard School of Government
Paper: "Mobilizing for Rights: International Law in Domestic Politics"
Beth Simmons 

Thursday, April 2
12:00-1:15 pm

 

Mark Lemley
Stanford Law School
Paper: "A Cautious Defense of Intellectual Property Oligopoly with Fringe Competition"
Mark Lemley 
NOTE:The Luncheon will be served at 11:50 a.m.;  the Mark Lemley Lecture begins at 12:20 p.m. in Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom. 
Friday, April 3
12:00-1:15 pm
Miranda Fleischer
University of Illinois
Paper: "Charitable Justice"
Miranda Fleischer 
Friday, April 17
12:00-1:15 pm
Larry Solum
University of Illinois
Paper: "Semantic Originalism"
Larry Solum 
Thursday, April 23
12:00-1:15 pm
Lior Strahilevitz
University of Chicago
Paper: "The Right to Abandon"
Lior Strahilevitz 

Questions? Contact

Shelly Henderson, Administrative Assistant
Email:  shenderson@wulaw.wustl.edu
Phone: 314.935.935-8598

Updated 10 February 2009