ABA National Appellate Advocacy Moot Court - Coaches

Richard E. Finneran

Richard E. Finneran is an instructor in constitutional law, criminal procedure, and appellate advocacy and head coach of the National Moot Court Team. In nine years of coaching, Professor Finneran has helped coach his teams to seven national championships in moot court competitions, including the William E. McGee Civil Rights Moot Court Competition (2009-2011), the Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition (2016), the Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition (2017), the William B. Spong Invitational Moot Court Competition (2018), and, most notably, the ABA's National Appellate Advocacy Competition (2012), the largest and most competitive moot court competition in the country. Professor Finneran has twice been honored as the Adjunct Professor of the Year by the Student Bar Association, first as its inaugural recipient in 2013, and most recently in 2017. Professor Finneran is also a partner at Bryan Cave LLP, where his practice focuses on white collar criminal investigations and civil litigation. Formerly an Assistant United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Missouri, Professor Finneran has twice received statewide recognition for his work as a federal prosecutor. In 2014, Professor Finneran received Missouri Lawyers Weekly's Legal Champion Award for his role in prosecuting the largest criminal fraud in the history of the Eastern District of Missouri. In 2016, Professor Finneran was recognized by the Missouri Bar Foundation as a recipient of the David J. Dixon Appellate Advocacy Award, which recognizes excellence in appellate practice by a member of the Missouri Bar.
Click here to read Professor Finneran's bio at Bryan Cave LLP.


Steve Alagna

Steve Alagna is an assistant coach for the National Moot Court Team. He practices as a litigation associate at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner in St. Louis. Steve graduated summa cum laude from Washington University School of Law, where he was a national octofinalist at the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition and a semifinalist at the Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition. Steve worked as a student advocate in Wash U Law’s Appellate Clinic and as a law clerk at the ACLU of Missouri, where his work included appellate civil-rights litigation. Steve is also a proud graduate of the University of Notre Dame, where he earned his B.A. and M.Ed.

Kelly Snyder

Kelly Snyder is an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney in St. Louis County. Previously, Ms. Snyder served as a Special Assistant United States Attorney in the Southern District of Illinois and also clerked for the Honorable David R. Herndon, Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois. She is a graduate of Washington University School of Law and of the University of Notre Dame.


Derek Wiseman

Derek Wiseman is an assistant coach for the National Moot Court Team. He works for the Department of Justice as an Assistant United States Attorney. In that role, he prosecutes national and international crime organizations at the trial and appellate level. Derek graduated magna cum laude from Washington University School of Law. During law school, he competed in the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition, earning recognition as the Best Advocate in the Midwest Region.