Women Faculty-Archived

Washington University School of Law has a diverse female faculty with a range of academic focuses, from family law and feminist theory to tax and securities law.  Comprising about 51% of the full time faculty, the women at Washington University are passionate about teaching and are committed to mentoring their students on a personal level.    


Annette R. Appell 
Professor of Law



Susan Frelich Appleton 
Lemma Barkeloo and Phoebe Couzins Professor of Law



Cheryl D. Block  
Professor of Law



Kathleen Clark 
Professor of Law



Marion Crain 
Vice Provost, Wiley B. Rutledge Professor of Law and Director of the Center for the Interdisciplinary Study of Work and Social Capital



Adrienne Davis 
Vice Provost; William M. Van Cleve Professor of Law; Director of the Black Sexual Economies Project for the Center for the Interdisciplinary Study of Work and Social Capital; and Founder & Coordinator of the Law & Culture Initiative  



Rebecca Susan Dresser 
Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor and Professor of Ethics in Medicine



Frances H. Foster 
Edward T. Foote II Professor of Law



Rebecca Hollander-Blumoff 
Professor of Law



Pauline Kim 
Charles Nagel Professor of Constitutional Law and Political Science



 Kimberly Jade Norwood 
Professor of Law and Professor of African & African American Studies 



Mae C. Quinn 
Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Civil Justice Clinic



Leila Nadya Sadat 
Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law and Director of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute



 Hillary A. Sale 
Walter D. Coles Professor of Law and Professor of Management (by courtesy)



Elizabeth Sepper 
Associate Professor of Law



Peggie R. Smith 
Charles F. Nagel Professor of Employment and Labor Law 



Karen L. Tokarz 
Charles Nagel Professor of Public Interest Law & Public Service and
Director of the Negotiation and Dispute Resolution Program



Melissa A. Waters 
Professor of Law




Denise Field 
Professor of Practice



 Jo Ellen Lewis 
Director of Legal Practice and Professor of Practice



Jane Moul 
Professor of Practice



Ann Davis Shields 
Professor of Practice and Director of PreTrial Program



Dorie Bertram  
Director of Public Services, Librarian and Lecturer in Law



Hyla Bondareff  
Electronic Resources Librarian and Lecturer in Law



Elizabeth Hubertz  
Lecturer in Law and Assistant Director, Interdisciplinary Environmental



Susan Kaplan  
Co-Director of Congressional Clinic and Lecturer in Law



Maxine Lipeles  
Co-Director of the Interdisciplinary Environmental Clinic and Senior Lecturer in Law



Tomea Mersmann 
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Lecturer in Law



Mary Perry  
Lecturer in Law; Director, Semester-in-Practice Externship



 Kathryn Pierce Banks 
Lecturer in Law and Director, Children's Rights Clinic



Geetha Rao Sant 
Director, Intellectual Property & Nonprofit Organizations Clinic, and Lecturer in Law



Aris Woodham  
Director of Web Services and Lecturer in Law