WashULaw Recognizes Students, Alumna With Outstanding Service Awards

WashULaw and the Public Service Advisory Board (PSAB) saluted the Public Service Student of the Year and the Dean’s Attorney of the Year for Public Service at a recognition ceremony on May 17 in the Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom. They also acknowledged service-related student honors for the Class of 2018, which completed more than 100,000 hours of public service.

Sharion Trenell Scott, JD ’18, was honored as the 2018 Public Service Student of the Year. This student-nominated award honors not only Scott’s focus on public service, but her leadership of the Black Law Students Association. Scott also received the 2016 Public Interest Law Initiative Fellowship and has interned at Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, Inc. in Alton, Illinois.

She taught a course this spring in Law, Gender, & Justice and served as co-president of PSAB and as a peer advisor for students interested in public-service careers. “I love public service because the people are amazing,” Scott said. “They are really committed and care about the cause they are fighting for. Every person we honor today has shown commitment, concern and genuine compassion for the needy in our society, and it’s important that our work does not go unnoticed because the causes we fight for should not.”

Dean Nancy Staudt , the Howard & Caroline Cayne Distinguished Professor of Law, enumerated the areas in which students “have served our nation as judicial interns.”  She noted that students provided services to domestic violence organizations and low-income veterans, as well as tax advice to the needy. They volunteered to secure immigrants’ rights and ensure fair housing and environmental policies.

“We can, and we do, make a lasting difference on our world through the work that we do in the public service context,” she said. “The most important is the commitment that you, our students, have to the greater social good. You are already having a lasting impact on our nation.”

Staudt also saluted Alumna Natalie Chan, JD ’14, as the Dean’s Attorney of the Year for Public Service. Chan is an associate with Sidley Austin LLP in the Employment and Labor group in the firm’s Chicago office. Natalie is committed to diversity and inclusion efforts at the firm. She is Co-Chair of the firm’s Associate Diversity Council and has been involved in various firm-sponsored diversity initiatives, including the 1L Diversity Mentorship Program, Sidley Scholars Program, and other pipeline programs.

Other student award recipients included:

  • Adeola Olukemi Adekunle as the Clinical Legal Education Association’s Outstanding Clinical Student.
  • Babatomiwa Akinyemi, Mesfer Mohammed Alsaluli, Sarah Elizabeth Carthen Watson, Brittainy Anne Cavender, Sarah Maria Elisabetta Gabriele, Paige Marie Robinson Greene, and Edward M. Tjaden, who earned the Dean’s Leadership Award.
  • Caleb William Brown, recognized as a Stuart L. Oelbaum Public Service Fellow.
  • Ellen Joan Coogan, Glori Elizabeth Croft, Jennifer Faye Dilley, Anthony McLaughlin, and Sharion Trenell Scottas David M. Becker Public Service Fellows.
  • Nicole Gougeonas a Dagen-Legomsky Fellow.
  • Rose Stern McCarty, Brandi Dashell Pikes, Kendall Michelle Reeves, Marie D. Stephens, and Rebecca Parker Swarm, who received the Equal Justice Works Award.

Those receiving the Dean’s Public Service Award for completing at least 75 hours of public service were Mashal Alassaf, Stephanie Amador, Reed Sebastian Arroyo, Stephanie Catherine Cohan, Michaela A. Connolly, Timothy Calvin Cowan, Daniel Scott Cull, Justin Ferris, Christopher J. Fleissner, Ryan Scott Geisser, Ronghua Guan, Theodore Vanderkemp Howard, Eusef Robin Huq, Sarah Dominique Langer, Ricardo Licea, Rose Stern McCarty, Hannah Jane Miller,  Michelle Cristina Mowry, Nidhi D. Narielwala, Ifeoluwa Onabanjo, Andrew Polansky, Kendall Michelle Reeves, Kadeem G. Ricketts, Sharion Trenell Scott, Marie D. Stephens, and Teresa Hao-Yun Yao.

Pro Bono Pledge Awards, given to students who completed 50 hours of public service, went to Kelsey Lynn Bolin, Han Liu, Michelle Palka, Brandi Dashell Pikes, Francesca Maria Staffetti, Sydney Rae Stafford, Yuan Tian, and Tiexin Yang.

Also recognized were Global Public Interest Law Fellows, who interned for 10 weeks in the summer for legal aid, public interest law organizations, and courts around the world:  Adeola Olukemi Adekunle, Ezra Potter Cahn, Sheyron Bree Cobb, Timothy Calvin Cowan, Christopher J. Fleissner, Peter Andrew Gibbins, Nicole Gougeon, Ashley Frances Moore, Kendall Michelle Reeves, and Marie D. Stephens.