“You are advocating for all the needy, underserved, and indigent across the country and world.  Our true heroes of justice are those in this room.”

Dean Nancy Staudt

WashULaw and the Public Service Advisory Board (PSAB) announced the Dean’s Attorney of the Year for Public Service and several prestigious student honors during a special recognition ceremony on May 18. All told, the Class of 2017 completed more than 95,000 public service hours and helped 63 different organizations.

Dean Nancy Staudt named Alumna Allison N. Powers, JD ’08, as the Dean’s Attorney of the Year for Public Service. Powers is an associate at Morgan, Lewis and Bockius in Chicago, focusing on class action and single-plaintiff matters. Her pro bono work includes representing low-income veterans seeking benefits and serving on the Cabrini Green Legal Aid Clinic’s Young Professionals Board. She also is the past co-chair of the Young Lawyers’ Section of the Black Women Lawyers’ Association of Greater Chicago.

Sapna Khatri, JD ’17, was honored as the 2017 Public Service Student of the Year. Nominated by her fellow students, Khatri was honored not only for her focus on meaningful public service, but also her steadfast leadership of PSAB. Throughout law school, she was a tireless advocate of pro bono service and a resource for both career and post-graduate pro bono opportunities. Khatri also served as managing editor of the Global Studies Law Review, captain of the National Trial Team, and diversity chair of the Student Bar Association. She will join Armstrong Teasdale LLP in St. Louis.

Other nominees for the 2017 Public Service Student of the Year Award were: Céline Aka, Marla Borkson, Patrick Huber, Sarah Rockefeller, Aaron Sherman, and Jessica Wasserman.

Sapna Khatri, JD ’17

Professor Peter Joy, Timothy Noonan & Dean Staudt

Other student award recipients included:

  • Fizza Batool, recognized as a Stuart L. Oelbaum Public Service Fellow.
  • Amber Krisp, Diana Mallon, Christopher McAllister, and Lauren Verseman as David M. Becker Public Service Fellows.
  • Timothy Noonan as the Clinical Legal Education Association’s Outstanding Clinical Student.
  • Batool, Borkson, and Haipeng Xiao as Dagen-Legomsky Fellows.

In addition to Aka, Borkson, Huber, Khatri, Krisp, Mallon, Rockefeller, and Wasserman, those receiving the Dean’s Public Service Award for completing at least 75 hours of public service were: Brittany Armour, Julie Bachert, Megan Bruyns, Charles Bryans, Xiaomei Cai, Richard Cannon, Ariel Cohen, Leslie DeGonia, Ariella Ederi, Alexander Endo, Natasha Faulconer, Brian Gee, Jacob Glickfield, Thomas Horscroft, Eric Hunter, Garisma Kadakia, Leah Kim, Youwha Kim, Karen Klass, Eunmi Lee, Linyan Leng, Daniel Loewy, Faith McElroy, Aaron Mohr, Kelly Mullen, Elizabeth Noonan-Pomada, Sarah Park, Nirav Patel, Ryan Prisock, Matthew Renick, Rachel Robinson, Marisa Rouse, Jae Hyung Ryu, Brittany Sanders Robb, Teresa Saunders, Alana Siegel, Edward Terrell, Melissa Thevenot, Nicholas Weiskittel, Aidan Yee, Hancen Yu, and Crystal Yun.

In addition to Sherman, Pro Bono Pledge Awards, given to students who completed 50 hours of public service, went to: Adrian Camino, Nathaniel Eckstrom, Xin Gao, Sarah Joseph, Dorothy Kafka, Nichole Koontz, Tucker Mottl, Courtney Nix, and David Weber.

Also recognized were Global Public Interest Law Fellows, who interned for 10 weeks in the summer for legal aid, public interest law organizations, and courts around the world: Andrew Bonkowski, Borkson, Camino, Adam Carroll, Olivia Espy, Courtney Farmer, Alberto Ghiani, Hyuree Kim, Tae Min Kim, Melanie Lee, Nix, Tobin Raju, Megan Reif, Robinson, Zachary Smith, and Natalia Szlarb.