Wiley Rutledge Intramural Moot Court


Wiley Rutledge Moot Court Participants
Judges Pasco Bowman (left) and Morris Arnold (second from
left), United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit,
congratulating winners of the Wiley Rutledge Moot Court Competition

The oldest and largest moot court at the law school, the Wiley Rutledge Moot Court Competition began at the law school in 1867. It is named in honor of Justice Wiley B. Rutledge of the U.S. Supreme Court, a former Dean of the law school. This competition, open to all second and third year law students during the Fall semester, focuses on federal law. Prior to the competition, students learn effective brief writing and oral advocacy skills through seminars led by faculty. For the competition, students work in teams, with each team ultimately writing a brief and delivering appellate arguments before panels of lawyers and judges. Judges for the final round are usually federal judges from various circuits in the country.